East Texas Communities Foundation is currently accepting applications from East Texas students for 97 scholarships to be awarded for the 2024-2025 academic year. The deadline for submission of the online application is March 1, 2024. Detailed eligibility criteria and links to the applications are available on the ETCF website at https://etcf.org/scholarships/available-scholarships/

11 new scholarships are available this year including:

Minton Family Scholarship: The Minton Family Scholarship is the legacy of a family who are devoted to the community and to the young people of Sabine County, Texas. The Fund was established in 2023 to benefit students graduating from Hemphill, West Sabine and Brookeland High Schools to attend college.

Walling Family Scholarship: The Walling Family Scholarship was established by the generosity of Robert C. and Mattie Walling. Established in 2023, this scholarship will award students studying nursing or pre-med from the Gregg or Rusk County area.

Byers Family Foundation Scholarship: This scholarship was established by the Byers Family Foundation in 2023 to provide scholarships for students from Rusk High School in Cherokee County, Texas.

Tyler City Employees Credit Union Scholarship: Established at East Texas Communities Foundation in 2023, the Tyler City Employees Credit Union Scholarship will be awarded to graduating high school seniors or non-traditional students. This scholarship is for Tyler City Employee Credit Union members, dependents of a CU member or someone who meets the requirements to become a CU member.                     

Patsy Key Ponder Scholarship: The Patsy Key Ponder Scholarship was established by the generosity of her family in 2023 to honor their mother and grandmother. Patsy was a graduate of Jefferson High School in Jefferson, Texas, and worked as an accountant before she became CFO and Co-Owner of Master WoodCraft Cabinetry. She served as Chairman of the Board of Marshall Hospital and a Trustee of Wiley College.  This scholarship will award students from Jefferson High School in Marion County, Texas.   

Lake Fork Fishing Scholarship: Established at East Texas Communities Foundation in 2023, the Lake Fork Fishing Scholarship will be awarded to graduating high school seniors in East Texas who are proficient in angling skills and achievements.

Hispanic Professionals of Tyler (HPAT) Scholarship: Hispanic Professionals Association of Tyler is a group of community leaders working to create and implement initiatives that promote professional development, community involvement, and cultural awareness for Tyler and the surrounding areas. This professional group of experienced business leaders, entrepreneurs, educators, and community activists wanted to create an avenue to support future generations of leaders through scholarships. The hope is that recipients of the HPAT scholarship will become leaders in their community by supporting them in their growth as professionals and welcoming them into this network of diverse professionals.

Yamboree Empowerment Scholarship (YES) for Women: The Yamboree Empowerment Scholarship for Women was established in 2023 by the East Texas Yamboree Association and two Gilmer natives with strong ties to the Yamboree, Sally Greene and Laura Potter. YES for Women is a needs-based scholarship, with a preference for first-generation college students. This $5,000 award is designed to empower a young Upshur County woman graduating from a public high school with the financial base she needs to make college a reality.

TJC Sisterhood Legacy Scholarship: Sans Souci and Zeta Phi Omega were two of several sororities and Greek fraternities at Tyler Junior College during the 1960s through the mid-80s.  Girls who pledged these sororities came from all walks of life throughout Texas. In addition, there were other girls who didn’t pledge but became sisters just the same.  Something magical happened as these young women formed friendships because their bonds have lasted decades and they still come together from time to time to celebrate their life-long friendships. The TJC Sisterhood Legacy Scholarship will be awarded to a deserving female senior from a Texas high school who plans to attend Tyler Junior College.                 

Owens Marmion Barkae Clinical Health Counseling Scholarship: The purpose is to provide educational scholarships for UT Tyler students preparing for careers in the field of mental health counseling with a preference for graduate students that are underrepresented in the Clinical Mental Health Counseling program.

Smith County Bar Association Scholarship: The Smith County Bar Foundation exists to further justice and the rule of law in Smith County, Texas, by educating and serving its citizens through programs designed to assist those affected by the justice system. Created in 2023, the Foundation created a scholarship to support students who are focusing on a career intended for the legal profession.

For a complete list of scholarships, log on to our website at https://etcf.org/scholarships/available-scholarships/ or call ETCF Program Officers, Dana Durman or Kathryn Martinez at 903.533.0208.